About College

Established in 1961 by the State Government to offer higher education at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels in various disciplines of science and management studies, the missionary zeal of the fraternity enabled the College to top the educational map of our state both in academic and co-curricular ventures. Human resource and physical infrastructural development and installation of latest technology in the laboratories undoubtedly place this College as a premier one in the country. The College has been enormously supplying to the needs of the human resource development of the state and will continue to render its services to meet the global scientific and technological challenges of the future times. Recognizing all these credentials of the College the National Assessment and Accreditation council Bangalore (NAAC) Re-accredited this College at “A” level with institutional score as 3.27 CGPA in august, 2017. Over the years, the College has emerged as an institute of excellence incomparable with others in all respects. Performance of our pass-outs in University, Medical, Engineering and Management examinations has been exceptionally outstanding. The College has contributed to the development of our society in terms of producing and polishing great academicians, able managers, bureaucrats and galaxy of intellectuals contributing now in different walks of life. The College is dedicated toward inculcating human values, spirit of tolerance and modern perspectives among its aspirants. To attain these ideals and to come up to the expectations of our people, College strives to be relevant in the field of management, science and technology and has been introducing new courses on regular intervals.

The academic credentials and the prestige of the College in 2010 attracted the attention of University Grants Commission, New Delhi and the College was granted CPE status (College with Potential for Excellence) the only College in J & K State. The College has been declared as an Autonomous College under section 2(b-a) of the Kashmir and Jammu Universities Act No. XXIV of 1969 (as amended in 2014) for a period of six years (2014-15 To 2019-2020) under UGC Notification No.F.22-1/2014(AC) dated 03-08-2014 followed by University Notification No.F(Auto-Status-ICSC)Acad/KU/14 Dated 13-10-2014.


NameThe Islamia College of Science and Commerce, Srinagar
Year of EstablishmentAugust, 1961
StatusState Funded (Autonomous)
UGC Autonomous Statusw.e from 2014-15 to 2019-2020
AffiliationAffiliated to the University of Kashmir
NAAC Re-AccreditationAugust, 2017 Grade “A” CGPA 3.27

Mandatory Statutory Bodies


A) Under Islamia College Constitution 1961 updated in 1972 I. Governing Board
( Meetings twice a year )
1. Hon’ble Chief Minister, Chairman
2. Hon’ble Minister for Education
3. Principal Secretary to Government, Finance Department
4. Principal Secretary to Government,Higher Education
5. Principal Secretary to Government, Planning & Development Deptt.
6. Principal Secretary to Government,Industries & Commerce Department
7. Director Colleges, Higher Education Department
8. Principal (Ex-Officio Secretary to Governing Board)
9. Staff Representative of the College
10. Administrative Secretary-Technical Education.


1. Dr. Ghulam Mohammad Khan ( Ex-Dean SKUAST, Srinagar )
2. Shri Mohammad Ibrahim Shah ( Ex-Chief Engineer )
3. Prof. M.S. Kuchay ( Ex-Principal of Islamia College of Science and Commerce )
  II. Finance Committee 1. Addl. Chief Secretary (Finance) Convenor
2. Commissioner/Secretary, Higher Edu. Deptt.
3.Principal of the College
4. Staff Representative.
  III. Academic Advisory Committee 1. Vice-Chancellor, University of Kashmir (Convenor)
2. Commissioner/Secretary to Govt, Higher Education Department.
3. Director Colleges, Higher Edu. Deptt..
4. Principal of the College.
5. Two members of teaching faculty each from Science & Commerce wing.
  IV. Executive Committee 1. Commissioner/Secretary to Government,Higher Education Department (Convenor)
2. Principal of the College (Member)
  All the decision of II, III & IV to be put up in Governing Board  
  I. Governing Body
( Meeting atleast once a year )
1. Three members (one of them to be chairperson). Nominated by the State Government. Person proven academic interest with at least PG Qualification.
. Educationist
· Industrialist
· Professional
2. Two members from the Teaching faculty of the College. Nominated by the Principal of the College based on seniority.
3. One member Educationist or Industrialist. Nominated by the Principal of the College based on seniority for two years.
4. One member UGC nominee. Nominated by the UGC.
5. One member State Government Nominee. Nominated by the State Government.
6. One member University nominee.
7. One member Principal of the College, Ex-Officio
  II. Academic Council
( Meeting atleast twice a year )
1. Principal of the College, Chairman
2. All Heads of Departments.
3. Four Teachers of the College representing different categories of teaching staff.
4. Four experts from outside the College representing such areas as Industry, Commerce, Law, Education, Medicine, Engineering etc.
III. Board of Studies
( Meeting atleast twice a year )
IV. Finance Committee
( Meeting atleast twice a year )